9 Sweet Romance Books to read from contemporary authors if you like Jane Austen

 

Jane Austen’s novels are quite unique to say the least. Even two centuries after their publication, they are still alive and inspiring not only Jane’s faithful readers, but also many modern writers. Not to mention, all the movie producers who have ventured over the past decades to try and figure out Jane’s characters and continue, to this day, to create different adaptations of her novels. I have to confess that I’m a Jane Austen movie adaptation fan, but I have never read her books. I like to think that that still qualifies me to be her fan.

I love reading and writing sweet romance, especially in historical settings. Those are my favorite. I love to be taken to an era that has passed, but it has left an unforgettable imprint on the world. I see it as a melancholic dream, to be enjoyed with a cup of hot chocolate and a few cookies on the side.

Whether it be the movies or the books, I know there are a lot of people who love Miss Jane Austen’s stories. I read her life story and learned about her struggles to become an author.

I also learned of the irony of her life, that she wrote romance or kissing books as they are sometimes called, but she never got married. Needless to say, in her time, to secure a favorable marriage was a very important thing for a woman. If she only knew of the legacy she was building during her lifetime.

As previously mentioned, Jane’s books have no true comparison for they are very unique, but there are plenty of books that surely would appeal to her readers and fans. Some are of a more classic time and l I intend to write a post about classic books to read if you like Jane Austen’, soon. For this particular post, I will focus in more contemporary authors. So, I set on the task of compiling nine books to read for Jane Austen fans. There are, of course, way more than nine books that her fans would enjoy, but since the best way to eat an elephant is one bite at the time. (Sorry for the elephants eating metaphor here. I don’t eat elephants. I promise.) My point is that once you find an author that you like, then is very easy to find more in the same genre, so let’s start with some of my favorite nine for now.

 

If you have read Jane’s books, I’m sure you are aware that she only wrote six of them and that once you get into her stories, you want more of the same. Luckily for us, there are many authors these days, me included, who fancy writing those kinds of books. While mine are not yet published, I made this list of books that will take you away to a land and time that where happily ever always prevails.

 

So here it goes.

 

9 Sweet Romance Books to read from contemporary authors if you like Jane Austen

Here they are, in no particular order.

  1. A lasting Impression by Tamera Alexander

Claire Laurent’s greatest aspiration is to paint something that will bring her acclaim. Yet her father insists she work as a copyist. A forger. When she’s forced to flee her home, her path collides with attorney Sutton Monroe, who shows her kindness by not turning her in to authorities. But when he later refuses to come to her aid, Claire fears she’s sorely misjudged him. Finding herself among the elite of Nashville society, Claire believes her dream of creating a lasting impression in the world of art is within reach–but only if her past remains hidden.

 

  1. Blackmore by Julianne Donaldson

 

Kate Worthington knows her heart and she knows she will never marry. Her plan is to travel to India instead if only to find peace for her restless spirit and to escape the family she abhors. But Kate s meddlesome mother has other plans. She makes a bargain with Kate: India, yes, but only after Kate has secured and rejected three marriage proposals.

 

  1. A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist

In 1860s Seattle, a man with a wife could secure himself 640 acres of timberland. But because of his wife’s untimely death, Joe Denton finds himself about to lose half of his claim. Still in mourning, his best solution is to buy one of those Mercer girls arriving from the East. A woman he’ll marry in name but keep around mostly as a cook. Anna Ivey’s journey west with Asa Mercer’s girls is an escape from the griefs of her past. She’s not supposed to be a bride, though, just a cook for the girls. But when they land, she’s handed to Joe Denton and the two find themselves in a knotty situation.

 

  1. Miss Wilton’s Waltz by Jossi S. Kilpack

Lenora Wilton has spent her life hiding behind the keys of her beloved pianoforte and the vibrancy of her younger sister, Cassie. But Lenora is ready for a change and travels to Bath to live with her Aunt Gwen and teach music at an all-girls boarding school. She is different in Bath more comfortable with herself and enjoys the freedom and independence of her new life there. When Lenora meets Aiden Asher, she finds herself attracted to him, but her unexpected feelings become more complicated when she learns that Catherine Lenora s newest and most troublesome student in the school is Mr. Asher’s niece

 

  1. The Lady of Bolton Hill by Elizabeth Camden

Female journalists are rare in 1879, but American born Clara Endicott has finally made a name for herself with her provocative articles championing London’s poor. When the backlash from her work forces a return home to Baltimore, Clara finds herself face to face with a childhood sweetheart who is no longer the impoverished factory worker she once knew.

 

  1. As You Are by Sarah M. Eden

A horse breeder by trade, Corbin Jonquil is more at home in the stables than in the ballroom of his sprawling estate. Corbin is the quietest of the Jonquil brothers and has always faded into the background, contentedly unnoticed. When a mysterious young widow, Mrs. Clara Bentford, moves into the neighborhood, however, Corbin quickly comes to realize that being noticed has its advantages.

 

  1. The Painter’s Daughter by Julie Klassen

Sophie Dupont, daughter of a portrait painter, assists her father in his studio, keeping her own artwork out of sight. She often walks the cliffside path along the north Devon coast, popular with artists and poets. It’s where she met the handsome Wesley Overtree, the first man to tell her she’s beautiful.

Captain Stephen Overtree is accustomed to taking on his brother’s neglected duties. Home on leave, he’s sent to find Wesley. Knowing his brother rented a cottage from a fellow painter, he travels to Devonshire and meets Miss Dupont, the painter’s daughter.

 

  1. After a Fashion by Jen Turano

Miss Harriet Peabody dreams of the day she can open up a shop selling refashioned gowns to independent working women like herself. Unfortunately, when an errand for her millinery shop job goes sadly awry due to a difficult customer, she finds herself out of an income.

Mr. Oliver Addleshaw is on the verge of his biggest business deal yet, when he learns his potential partner prefers to deal with men who are settled down and wed. When Oliver witnesses his ex not-quite-fiance cause the hapless Harriet to lose her job, he tries to make it up to her by enlisting her help in making a good impression on his business partner.

 

  1. A Most Inconvenient Marriage by Regina Jennings

Abigail Stuart Thought She was Jeremiah Calhoun’s Widow.
But Jeremiah Calhoun Is Very Handsome, Very Alive, and Very Perplexed.
Most Inconvenient Indeed.

 

 

And there you have it. Nine sweet romance books to read from contemporary authors if you like Jane Austen. Let me know what you think.

 

2020-08-30T05:18:04+00:00